The Oxymoron, “Customer Service”


I called my credit card company early this morning to request they snail mail my reward points certificates because I missed their “stroke of midnight” download timeframe.

The customer service representative, quite nicely told me that since these were e-certificates, they could no longer access them.   I replied I knew that, but another customer service rep told me they could be mailed to me.  “Just a moment, please, I’ll check with my supervisor.”

“I’m sorry ma’am.  My supervisor said she has no way of knowing if you already downloaded the certificates or not.  You’ll have to write a letter to our correspondence department and request your certificates.”  I said, “how could she know whether I downloaded them or not if you’re telling me that you can’t access my certificates.  Let me speak to your supervisor.”  I’m already seething over the irrational progression this conversation is taking.

Supervisor comes on the line.  We follow the same circuitous route, with the same illogical outcome.   However, I’m not budging.  “You can’t mail me my certificates because you don’t know if I downloaded and used them.  Now how would you know that if you’re telling me you can’t access those certificates in my account!”  “Just a moment please….oh, I see you’ve been with us for a very long time.  Let me see if there’s something I can do.”

Resolution:  Didn’t get my certificates, but I did get all my points back into my account, which, I might add, was another 180-degree turnaround.  “No ma’am, we can’t do that, but we can issue you another e-card.”  “If you can put my points back into my account to re-issue an e-card, you can leave them there also, right????”  “Just a minute, ma’am.  Thank you for waiting, we’ve adjusted your account in its entirety.”

So why did I have to go through all this, what’s the word, rigamarole?  Maybe I should have told them I was calling for Oprah.

About an-opinioniatedwoman

Midwest, Middle Class and Middle of the Road. A fiscal conservative and social moderate, who supports free speech, gun rights, the military, and God Bless America. Multi-dog owner who has seen and been through it all. Interests from politics to football to cooking/baking to opera. I have a very low tolerance for mediocrity.
This entry was posted in Economy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

