Women Drivers …. and Why We’re Superior


I just returned home from walking my two pups (jeez, is it dark out at 5:30pm.)  While at my street corner, I was called to by two young girls in a jeep, “do you know where Etchingham Circle is?”  I did, “make a right, then a left, 2nd street on your left.” Got home and thought to myself, women don’t know where they’re going, they stop and ask for directions.  Men? I digress…

Antonio. Poster male for ‘ask no directions’. Years ago in another job, I was tasked with taking a delegation of scientists from Colombia to visit a manufacturing facility in Fayetteville, NC. Our firm’s country director, Antonio, insisted on driving. We left Washington, DC and what should have been no more than a 5 hour drive ultimately turned into 9 hours. On the way, while I was fuming, Antonio wasn’t worried…until we whizzed past a warning sign. “Was that a ‘DO NOT ENTER’ sign?” I asked. He replied, “I dunno…something about a Ft. Bragg, some shooting range”. “OMG!” He relinquished the wheel under protest.

With that said, I return to the subject of this post. Women ask for directions. Men? Not only would they not have stopped to ask, but they’d probably still be circling and searching for Etchingham past midnight (although I can hear the males in the audience —  women ask directions, men use their GPS — heh heh heh).  Still …. I rest my case.

She:   “And how come you never ask for directions?”
He:    “
I’m a man, you know better than that.”
She:  “But there are men who do ask.”
He:    “
Usually they’re young and kinda stupid, young and inexperienced.”
She:  “But 
the young and the stupid, they will get there faster than the old.”
He:   “
Yeah, but the old take delight in rediscovering.”

About an-opinioniatedwoman

Midwest, Middle Class and Middle of the Road. A fiscal conservative and social moderate, who supports free speech, gun rights, the military, and God Bless America. Multi-dog owner who has seen and been through it all. Interests from politics to football to cooking/baking to opera. I have a very low tolerance for mediocrity.
This entry was posted in Current Events, Pop Culture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

