Spunky 360 Update


Yes, my second dog post of the day.  I’m on a roll.  This one’s regarding my inimitable Boston Terrier, Spunky.

The Spunky Yawn -- you won't believe what goes into that mouth!

He’s called my Spunky 360 because you need eyes around your head to watch him.  If you can’t see him, he’s into something.  I decided to include the “Spunky Yawn” so you that you’ll understand why he needed his 3rd surgery for foreign objects last December (the reason for my blog hiatus).  This time the vet removed six small pieces of plastic and a junk of Jolly ball.

His half-brother Chipper celebrated his 10th birthday December 15, but at the rate Spunky is going, I’m holding my breath he sees his fifth this February… we’re not there yet.

Spunky is one of those canine problem children, whose owners either decide to surrender them to a shelter or rescue because they’re overwhelmed with behavior issues and the resultant vet bills, or, they’ll put up with the canine antics, make daily use of a crate or x-pen, and pray the pet insurance company doesn’t drop them.

In late December, I tried to enroll Spunky in an Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD) research trial being conducted by the Tufts University Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine. You can see he’s not short on problems.  (Excuse me while I stop for a moment; Olympia, my GSD, wants to eat Spunky.)  There, back. Spunky play-taunts the girls, and then develops a case of the zoomies when the girls close in, which leads to a chase-me scene across the back yard.

Two OCD Bostons

So now that he’s safely back inside, he’s reverted to his OCD behavior of first licking the blanket for about twenty minutes straight, and then wadding it up into a ball where he sucks on it and falls asleep.  You can see from the photo that there is no shortage of OCD or blankets in my house.

So in order to keep both my sanity and Spunky safe, I’ve resorted to increased us of his crate, which he greets with relentless mournful protests, and are hard to ignore. And I’ve made it my mission that Spunky’s mission to kill himself doesn’t come to pass.  And that’s the latest on Spunkums.

About an-opinioniatedwoman

Midwest, Middle Class and Middle of the Road. A fiscal conservative and social moderate, who supports free speech, gun rights, the military, and God Bless America. Multi-dog owner who has seen and been through it all. Interests from politics to football to cooking/baking to opera. I have a very low tolerance for mediocrity.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Spunky 360 and Friends and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spunky 360 Update

  1. Awesome dogs with and awesome caregiver. I have a BT as well, Otis named after the cow in the movie BarnYard. Otis is three and a half years old. He was a discount puppy as no one wanted him due to him not being show quality. One white ear.
    I would not trade him for anything in the world. My best friend!! To-date Otis has never gotten into any trouble never done anything bad. He is a special needs puppy though, he is one of the lucky 1%er’s of the breed that got Jr. Cataracts and is subsequently blind. However that has not stopped him in the slightest. Otis’s passion in life is to play ball or fetch of some sorts. It’s ball outside or fetch the road kill (stuffingless furries) toys inside.
    I believe the sucking is part of BT nature. Otis when still tiny would suck on blankets and toys to go to sleep. As he has always slept in bed with me, he would snuggle up nice and tight and if he could get away with it would suck on my neck. Not a frequent thing anymore but on occasion I have woken during the night to find him jammed up as tight as he can to me and be attached at my neck. He know’s he is not suppose to do that but he sneaks it in when he has trouble going to sleep and I have already passed out. I have read about other BT’s that still suck on blankets and such at much older ages as well.
    Here’s to BT’s
    cheers
    Bill

Leave a Reply

